The Photosynthetic Bacterial Reaction Center II

Structure, Spectroscopy and Dynamics

  • Jacques Breton
  • André Verméglio

Part of the Nato ASI Series book series (NSSA, volume 237)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-x
  2. Johann Deisenhofer, Hartmut Michel
    Pages 1-11
  3. Steven J. Robles, Teresa Ranck, Douglas C. Youvan
    Pages 21-23
  4. J. C. Williams, N. W. Woodbury, A. K. W. Taguchi, J. M. Peloquin, H. A. Murchison, R. G. Alden et al.
    Pages 25-31
  5. Jack Fajer, Louise Karle Hanson, Michael C. Zerner, Mark A. Thompson
    Pages 33-42
  6. Hugo Scheer, Michaela Meyer, Ingrid Katheder
    Pages 49-57
  7. J. Rautter, Ch. Geßner, F. Lendzian, W. Lubitz, J. C. Williams, H. A. Murchison et al.
    Pages 99-108
  8. Martin Plato, Friedhelm Lendzian, Wolfgang Lubitz, Klaus Möbius
    Pages 109-118
  9. Vaithianathan Palaniappan, David F. Bocian
    Pages 119-126
  10. Ileana Agalidis, Bruno Robert, Tony Mattioli, Françoise Reiss-Husson
    Pages 133-139
  11. J. Breton, J.-R. Burie, C. Berthomieu, D. L. Thibodeau, S. Andrianambinintsoa, D. Dejonghe et al.
    Pages 155-162
  12. Rainer Hienerwadel, Eliane Nabedryk, Jacques Breton, Werner Kreutz, Werner Mäntele
    Pages 163-172
  13. Theodore J. DiMagno, Sandra J. Rosenthal, Xiaoling Xie, Mei Du, Chi-Kin Chan, Deborah Hanson et al.
    Pages 209-217
  14. Wolfgang Zinth, Peter Hamm, Karl Dressler, Ulrich Finkele, Christoph Lauterwasser
    Pages 227-235
  15. Marten H. Vos, Fabrice Rappaport, Jean-Christophe Lambry, Jacques Breton, Jean-Louis Martin
    Pages 237-243
  16. V. A. Shuvalov, A. Ya. Shkuropatov, A. V. Klevanik
    Pages 245-251
  17. U. Eberl, M. Gilbert, W. Keupp, T. Langenbacher, J. Siegl, I. Sinning et al.
    Pages 253-260
  18. Alexander Ogrodnik, Thomas Langenbacher, Ulrich Eberl, Martin Volk, Maria E. Michel-Beyerle
    Pages 261-270
  19. Steven G. Boxer, Stefan Franzen, Kaiqin Lao, David J. Lockhart, Robert Stanley, Martin Steffen et al.
    Pages 271-282
  20. M. Bixon, Joshua Jortner, M. E. Michel-Beyerle
    Pages 283-290
  21. M. Bixon, Joshua Jortner, M. E. Michel-Beyerle
    Pages 291-300
  22. Marianne Schiffer, Chi-Kin Chan, Chong-Hwan Chang, Theodore J. DiMagno, Graham R. Fleming, Sharron Nance et al.
    Pages 351-361
  23. P. Beroza, D. R. Fredkin, M. Y. Okamura, G. Feher
    Pages 363-374
  24. Vladimir P. Shinkarev, Eiji Takahashi, Colin A. Wraight
    Pages 375-387
  25. Laura Baciou, Edward J. Bylina, Pierre Sebban
    Pages 395-402
  26. Paul J. M. van Kan, Marloes L. Groot, Stefan L. S. Kwa, Jan P. Dekker, Rienk van Grondelle
    Pages 411-420
  27. G. Feher
    Pages 421-425
  28. Back Matter
    Pages 427-429

About this book


The NATO Advanced Research Workshop entitled "The Photosynthetic Bacterial Reaction Center: Structure, Spectroscopy, and Dynamics" was held May 10-15, 1992, in the Maison d'H6tes of the Centre d'Etudes Nuc1eaires de Cadarache near Aix-en-Provence in the south of France. This workshop is the most recent of a string of meetings which started in Feldafing (Germany) in March 1985, soon after the three-dimensional structure of the bacterial reaction center had been elucidated by X-ray crystallography. This was followed, in September 1987, by a workshop in Cadarache and, in March 1990, by a second meeting in Feldafing. Although one of the most important processes on Earth, photosynthesis is still poorly understood. Stimulated by the breakthrough of solving the bacterial reaction center structure at atomic resolution, the field of relating this structure to the function of the reaction center, i. e. the remarkably efficient conversion and storage of solar energy, has been developing vigorously. Once the general organization of the cofactors and some details of the protein-cofactor interactions were known, it became possible to combine a variety of spectroscopic techniques with the powerful tool of site-directed mutagenesis in order to address increasingly incisive questions about the specific role of some amino acid residues in the electron transfer process. Still another promising tool is being developed, namely the exchange of a number of the native bacteriochlorophyll and bacteriopheophytin cofactors by chemically modified pigments.


Amino acid earth photosynthesis protein spectroscopy synthesis

Editors and affiliations

  • Jacques Breton
    • 1
  • André Verméglio
    • 2
  1. 1.CEN SaclayGif-sur-YvetteFrance
  2. 2.CEN CadaracheFrance

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer Science+Business Media New York 1992
  • Publisher Name Springer, Boston, MA
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-1-4613-6330-9
  • Online ISBN 978-1-4615-3050-3
  • Buy this book on publisher's site