Free Trade Agreements in the Asia-Pacific: An Introduction

  • Christopher M. Dent


The proliferation of bilateral free trade agreement (FTA) projects in the Asia-Pacific since the late 1990s has arguably been the most important recent development in the region’s international political economy. This book presents a comprehensive study of the phenomenon. We can think of the Asia-Pacific as a ‘trans-region’ that comprises three separate regions, namely:
  • East Asia: that itself consists of Southeast Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam) and Northeast Asia (Japan, China, South Korea, North Korea, Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, Mongolia and Taiwan).

  • Oceania: Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Island Country (PIC) group, and Papua New Guinea.

  • Pacific America: United States, Canada, Mexico, the Central American states (e.g. Costa Rica), Columbia, Ecuador, Peru and Chile.


European Union World Trade Organisation Trade Liberalisation Free Trade Agreement North American Free Trade Agreement 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Christopher M. Dent 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • Christopher M. Dent

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations